The Adventure Begins

I’m one of these nutty people who likes to research before starting anything and I have been researching hydroponics and its variations for weeks. I can’t wait any longer! I found hydroculture and I think it’s a great place for me to start.
I’m so excited! I already bought a ton of Hydroton (5 ltr bags are HUGE and I bought 2!!) and I’ve been collecting slow cooker crockery from Goodwill and mason jars found on my property to put my plants in. I’ve even got some blue Balls!! Hey, blue Ball Perfect Mason jars, gutterbrain!

A humble start

Check out this humble beginning. My first tomato seedlings in blue Balls (I’m calling them Mater1 and Mater2) and a lot of seedlings started in coir (coconut fiber) and placed under Ziploc ‘greenhouses’ that will be transplanted to Hydroton later.  The seedlings include strawberries, veggies, and the kiddos’ marigolds.

Also, meet Vrissy, my bromeliad, or, more specifically, my vriesea christiane. She was transplanted to her hydroculture jar a couple of days ago and is looking great.

My hydrocultured vriesea christiane

Keep an eye out for my palms and my banana tree!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeff
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 20:41:54

    That is AWESOME!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

